Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife

Via Band of Thebes:

Téa Obreht has won the 16th Orange Prize, awarded to the year's best fiction written by a woman, for her first novel, The Tiger's Wife, "set amid the horrors and aftermath of Balkan civil war, mixing magic, myth and folklore with intense, tough realism." Orbeht, born in Yugoslavia, raised in Cyprus and Egypt before coming to the U.S. at 12, finished the novel at 22 and is now 25. The five judges needed four hours of debate to reach their decision, which was not unanimous. The other finalists were:

Emma Donoghue - Room; 7th novel
Aminatta Forna - The Memory of Love; 2nd novel
Emma Henderson - Grace Williams Says It Loud; 1st novel
Nicole Krauss - Great House; 3rd novel
Kathleen Winter - Annabel; 1st novel

I'm very excited about reading The Tiger's Wife!


Popular Posts